Belle Belfast

This weekend I went to Belfast, with my group of friends. For those of you that don’t know Belfast is in Northern Ireland, so is technically part of the UK, so it was a new experience for me, and a whole new currency!  We left Friday morning bright and early, seriously maybe too early! After being on a bus for 5 hours we finally got to Belfast and it was pouring rain.  And I was ready to go home, but the group I was traveling with kept my spirits up! After finding our hostel we explored the great big city, yes in the rain. I have never walked so much in my life! And near the end of the day I was getting a bit grumpy because for those who know me know that being wet, cold and hungry does not make me a very cheerful person. I am so glad that we kept walking because we found the Peace Wall, which is a wall that was put up to divide the catholic communities from the Protestant communities in Belfast. It was suppose to stop the fighting, and now people are protesting the wall, by putting very political types of murals on the walls. These are some of the greatest pieces of artwork  that I have ever seen.

Image

Image

That night after walking around, the city we were exhausted and we had to get up extra early to go see one of the 8 natural wonders of the world. The Giant Causeway. This is a rock formation on the coast, it is truly one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen in my life, and it really makes you wonder about how something like that can be formed. Which is why it is one of the great wonders. But as I was sitting there is awe, it just made realize how little of the world I have seen and how much more I want to see. And maybe that is the point of nature to make you think.

Image

If you look carefully you can see all the rocks are pentagons. 

Image

But what is something so great and wondrous if you don’t have someone to share it with. Below is a picture of my best friend here  Michelle and I. She is is the best friend that keeps you check, for those that know me, know I need to cool off on my drama sometimes and she makes that happen, but she is one of the kindest people that I have ever met. And she is quite a mom figure, so you know I have to have someone take care of me!

Image

We finished the day off by going to a local pub. The group was great, and very fun. I think those moments are my   favorite, the ones where you are just in a crowded place but you are with your own group and it seems like you really belong it is hard to believe that I have been here for 2 months already! We then went back to the hostel and explored the city a little bit more before we were ready to depart.  And in case you didn’t know Belfast is the city where the Titanic was built. So here are a couple more photos of Belfast.ImageImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

